

## PRESS RELEASE

## 2018 winners - Christmas Card Competition

Congratulations to Isabelle Frost, student at the Roding Valley High School who was the overall winner of the Town Council's annual Christmas Card competition and the secondary school category winner.

We were delighted to receive over 300 entries this year to design our official Christmas card. This proved a challenging task for our judges, Town Mayor Cllr Stephen Murray and Deputy Town Mayor Cllr Stella Murphy who spent an enjoyable afternoon looking at all the different designs. Cllr Murray commented on the high standard this year and thanked everyone who took part particularly Hereward Primary, Oak View, Oaklands, St John Fisher Catholic Primary and Roding Valley High School, along with Loughton Hall, The Mellows and Woodland Grove Care Homes for their multiple entries.

We would like to thank Hobbycraft, based at the Epping Forest Shopping Park, for kindly sponsoring this competition again and Loughton Library for holding a craft day during half term which helped applicants create their entries.

The winners and runners-up this year were students attending Roding Valley High School, Hereward Primary and Oaklands School; and a resident from the Woodland Grove Care Home.

At December's Council meeting, the Town Mayor, Cllr Stephen Murray, presented each winner with a £25 gift token and a certificate. The overall winner also received a hamper of craft items, kindly donated by Hobbycraft.

The winners and runners-up from each category are detailed below:

INFANT SCHOOL CATEGORY	
Winner	Taryn Da Silva
Runner-up	Leandro Tapper
JUNIOR SCHOOL CATEGORY	
Winner	Sienna Martin
Runner-up	Lilly Spong
SECONDARY SCHOOL CATEGORY	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
Overall Winner	Isabelle Frost
Runner-up	Alistair Lanz
ADULT CATEGORY	
Winner	Barbara Masser
Runner-up	Janette Schofield

An exhibition of a selection of the entries, including the winners and runners-up, will be on display at Debden Library, inside Epping Forest College, Borders Lane, until 2 January 2019.





The winning design and award presentation - (back row left to right): Deputy Town Mayor, Cllr Stella Murphy & Winner (overall and secondary category): Isabelle Frost. (Front row left to right): Winner: Barbara Masser (adult category), Town Mayor, Cllr Stephen Murray and Winner: Sienna Martin (junior category)

The Winners (left to right): Barbara Masser (adult category); Isabelle Frost (overall and secondary category); and Sienna Martin (junior category)

## Note to Editor:

Contact: Enid Walsh or Debra Paris

020 8508 4200 17 December 2018