

PRESS RELEASE

2019 winners - Christmas Card Competition



Joel Smith, the infant school category winner, has been chosen as the overall winner in the Town Council's popular annual competition to design our official Christmas card. Just over 150 excellent entries were received this year providing a challenging task for our judges, Town Mayor Cllr Stella Murphy and Deputy Town Mayor Cllr Tessa Cochrane.

We would like to thank the following schools, Hereward Primary, Oaklands, and Roding Valley High School; along with The Mellows Care Home, from whom we received multiple entries.

The winning and runner-up entries this year were received from students attending – Thomas Willingale School, Hereward Primary School, Oaklands School and Roding Valley High School, along with The Mellows Care Home.

The winners and runners-up from each category are detailed below:

INFANT SCHOOL CATEGORY	
Overall winner	Joel Smith
Runner-up	Rex Farthing
JUNIOR SCHOOL CATEGORY	
Winner	Cari Jenner
Runner-up	Owen Jenner
SECONDARY SCHOOL CATEGORY	
Winner	Ruby Hewitt-Harvey
Runner-up	Francesca Gates
ADULT CATEGORY	
Winner	Caroline Wiseman
Runner-up	Sidney Fallon

At the Council meeting on Wednesday 11 December 2019, the Town Mayor, Cllr Stella Murphy, presented each winner with a £25 gift card and certificate. The overall winner also received a splendid hamper, kindly donated by Hobbycraft, who again sponsored this year's competition. The runners-up have been awarded a certificate.

An exhibition of a selection of the entries, including the winners and runners-up, is currently on display at Loughton Library, Traps Hill, from 12 December 2019 to 2 January 2020. The town council congratulates all the winners, and extends a special thank you to everyone who entered, especially all the local schools and organisations that supported and publicised the competition.

L-R (Seated) Caroline Wiseman (adult category winner); Joel Smith (overall winner and winner infant category; Town Mayor Cllr Stella Murphy; Cari Jenner (junior category winner); Owen Jenner (junior category runner-up) Ruby Hewitt-Harvey (secondary category winner - seated)



Note to Editor:

Contact: Mark Squire or Debra Paris

020 8508 4200 12 December 2019