LOUGHTON TOWN COUNCIL

ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING

Minutes of the Council Meeting held on Wednesday 17 May 2017 at 7.45pm at 1 Buckingham Court

Present: Councillors: C Davies (in the chair until Min no 80) P Abraham (in the chair from Min no 80) R Brookes T Cochrane B Cohen L Girling (from Min no 81) M Dalton T Downing K Latchford J Mahoney S Murphy S Murray A Omer T Owen S Pewsey C C Pond C P Pond M Stubbings D Wixley

Officers: E K Walsh (Town Clerk) L Gibson (Town and Community Development Officer) P Bryce (Administrative Assistant)

Also present:

14 members of the public

Cllr Davies, as outgoing mayor, welcomed the Councillors and members of the public to the meeting.

80 Election of the Town Mayor for 2017/18

Cllr Davies invited nominations for the role of Town Mayor. Cllr Abraham was proposed and seconded and, there being no other nominations, Cllr Abraham was elected Town Mayor for 2017/18. Cllr Davies presented him with the Town Mayor's badge and chain of office. Cllr Abraham took the chair and duly executed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

Cllr Abraham thanked Cllr Davies for her work during her term of office as Town Mayor and presented her with the Past Town Mayor's badge. Cllr C P Pond led the Council's tributes to Cllr Davies for her work during her year of office. Cllr Davies responded and thanked members for their support.

Cllr Abraham thanked the Council for honouring him with the opportunity to serve the community in this role.

Cllr L Girling joined the meeting.

81 Appointment of Deputy Town Mayor for 2017/18

Cllr Murray was proposed and seconded, and, there being no other nominations, Cllr Murray was appointed Deputy Town Mayor and presented with the Deputy Town Mayor's badge.

82 Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were received from Cllrs Angold-Stephens, Beales and Jennings.

83 Declarations of Interest

No declarations of interest were received.

84 Confirmation of Minutes

The minutes of the meeting held on 3 May 2017 were CONFIRMED as a correct record and signed by the Chairman.

85 Appointment of Members, and Election of Chairman and Vice Chairman, of Council Committees for 2017/18

85.1 Planning and Licensing Committee

Cllrs Abraham, Angold-Stephens, Cochrane, Davies, Downing, Latchford and Murphy were nominated and appointed to the Planning and Licensing Committee. Cllr Angold-Stephens was elected Chairman and Cllr Davies Vice Chairman.

85.2 Recreation Committee

Cllrs Brookes, Cohen, Girling, Murray, Omer, Stubbings and Wixley were nominated and appointed to the Recreation Committee. Cllr Wixley was elected Chairman and Cllr Omer Vice Chairman.

85.3 Environment and Heritage Committee

Cllrs Beales, Cochrane, Davies, Owen, Pewsey, C C Pond and C P Pond were nominated and appointed to the Environment and Heritage Committee. Cllr C C Pond was elected Chairman and Cllr C P Pond Vice Chairman.

85.4 Resources and General Services Committee

Cllr Angold-Stephens, Dalton, Jennings, Mahoney, Murray, Omer and Pewsey were nominated and appointed to the Resources and General Services Committee. Cllr Pewsey was elected as Chairman and Cllr Angold-Stephens Vice Chairman.

85.5 In accordance with Standing Order 16/a/x it was AGREED that the following persons be authorised to make substitutions for their group: Cllrs Angold-Stephens, Jennings and C C Pond.

86 Nomination of Council Representatives for 2017/18

86.1 The Council representatives on outside bodies for 2017/18 were AGREED as below:

Organisation	2017/18 representative(s)	
Lopping Endowment	Cllr S Pewsey	
Loughton Parochial Charities	S Short	
	J Boucek	
Essex Association of Local Councils (EALC) – Epping Forest Branch	Cllrs C C Pond and Wixley	
Local Councils' Liaison Committee	Cllrs C C Pond and Wixley	
EALC - Larger Local Councils Forum	Cllr Wixley	
ECC Parish Passenger Transport Meeting	Cllrs Abraham and C C Pond	

Tree Wardens (appointed by Epping Forest Countrycare)	Cllr Wixley Cllrs Cohen and Davies were nominated	
Loughton 1 st (High Road Town Centre Partnership)	Cllrs Cohen and Omer Substitutes Cllrs Abraham and Murphy	
Loughton Broadway Town Centre Partnership	Cllrs Girling, Latchford and Owen	
Citizens Advice Epping Forest District – Management Committee	Cllr Angold-Stephens	
Essex Police local community meetings	Cllrs Abraham, Cohen, Girling, Mahoney and Wixley	
Debden Tenants' Panel Meeting Alderton, Broadway and Fairmead Ward Councillors	Cllr Wixley	
Roding Valley Nature Reserve Consultative Group	Cllrs Abraham, Davies, Girling, Latchford, Mahoney, Murphy, Omer, Owen and Stubbings	
Roding Valley Management Committee	Not constituted	

86.2 Arrangements for reporting back on the activities of outside bodies

The Council AGREED that the current practice whereby representatives were requested to provide a written report, to be attached to the next Council agenda, on meetings which they have attended, should continue. It was NOTED that a verbal report could be made on meetings attended within ten days of the Council meeting and that members were also requested to provide an annual report for the final Council meeting of the municipal year where appropriate.

86.3 Joint Standards Committee

The Council APPOINTED Cllr C C Pond as its representative on the Joint Standards Committee for 2017/18 with Cllr Angold-Stephens as his substitute.

86.4 Grievance Hearing and Disciplinary Appeal Panels

Cllr Jennings was APPOINTED the third member to sit on both the Grievance Hearing Panel and the Disciplinary Appeal Panel.

87 Membership of Internal Council Groups

87.1 Strategy and Staff Group

Membership: Town Mayor, Deputy Town Mayor, Chairman of each committee with Cllrs Davies, Owen and C P Pond.

87.2 Community Centres Working Group

Membership: Cllrs Abraham, Angold-Stephens, Davies, Stubbings and Wixley.

87.3 Financial Assistance Working Group

Membership: Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Resources and General Services Committee and Cllr Murray.

88 Training and Conferences

The Council APPROVED the attendance of councillors at the forthcoming training and conference sessions for the purposes of paying travel expenses:

23 May 2017	Code of Conduct	Cllr Mick Stubbings
7 June 2017	Essex Police Conference in Dunmow	Cllr David Wixley

Signed..... Date: 19 July 2017